Logroño City Council

Logroño Town Hall

The building of the Town Hall of Logroño is the work of Rafael Moneo, one of the best known and most valued current Spanish architects.

Born in Tudela (Navarra), Moneo is the author of such important projects as the Museum of Roman Art in Mérida, the Atocha station, the auditoriums of Barcelona and San Sebastián or the Museum of Contemporary Art in Stockholm.

Rafael Moneo has received numerous awards in his career, such as the Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts in 2012 and the Pritzker for Architecture in 1996.

The Navarrese architect began the construction in 1976 and the building was completed four years later.

A pioneering building

This building is today a unique example to know and understand the Spanish civil architecture of recent years and is a place of attraction for many professionals and visitors from all over the world. It is located in the center of the city, on a site previously occupied by military barracks.

The Logroño City Council building is made up of two pieces in the shape of a triangle which are articulated forming a large plaza and another in the shape of a piano that houses the auditorium and can be seen from the rear of the building.

The exterior is constructed with sandstone from Salamanca, a material also used in part of the interior of the building. On the east façade there is a bronze fountain with two spouts, on one of which leans a sculpture of a woman, the iconic Lady of the Fountain . This artistic set is the work of the sculptor Francisco Lopez. It is very popular and identifies the City Council.

The building represents a new integrative way of understanding urban architecture, novel for the time in which it was built: the front part of the structure is integrated into the city through the Plaza del Ayuntamiento, with its arcades; from the back, the building opens up to the Ebro river through Avenida de la Constitución.

Avenida de la Paz, 11. 26001 Logroño.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp