The origin of Bodegas Marqués de Murrieta is linked to the origin of Rioja wines. The first Marqués de Murrieta brought Bordeaux winemaking techniques to Spain, making his first wine in 1852 in Logroño.
He settled in the Ygay Estate in the late 1870s. This farm houses the Ygay Castle, headquarters of Marqués de Murrieta, surrounded by 300 hectares of its own vineyards. The Cebrián-Sagarriga family begins a laborious remodelation work that culminates in 2014 with the reopening of the Ygay Castle to visits and private events.
Its visitors can enjoy guided tours that begin in the vineyard, go through centenary rehabilitated areas and end with a professional tasting of their wines and appetizers in thewine bar.